CHANNEL THE AUTUMN/WINTER 2016 TREND – VELVET CRUSH

AUTUMN WINTER 2016 TREND: VELVET CRUSH

True story: in my teens I had three pairs of crushed velvet lilac hipsters in my sartorial arsenal. Three. I also had a penchant for a floppy velvet hat in a similar vein to my teenage spirit animal Blossom. Having these traumatic memories has tainted my ability to really embrace the new velvet redux. But, since it is a hot trend for autumn/winter, I will endeavour to embrace and attempt to make velvet look chic without channeling my teenage idol.

Miuccia Prada is making a very strong case for embellished velvet and I can’t help thinking that her Milanese friend, Alessandro Michele has rubbed off on his Italian contemporary. Dare I say that such a stalwart of ready-to-wear is impressionable by the new upstart. I just did. Michele’s quirky designs have set a new precedent where otherwise classic designers are testing out the waters with slightly off-kilter designs for their otherwise firmly established DNA.

ALL BLACK VELVET ERRYTHANG

Ellery is the newest label whetting our style appetites and the Sydney-based label embraced velvet vogue with carefree abandon, showing a head-to-toe all velvet everything look. A blue maxi dress with a slit reminiscent of Angelina Jolie’s left leg was worn with the it-piece of the season, the velvet ankle boot. Thornton Bregazzi chanelled 90s indie chick with a not-your-mother’s-daughter black midi dress fit only a bad girl, sweetened only by the neckline-du-jour, the sweetheart. Think Courtney Love circa Hole’s Celebrity Skin or an early Alisson Mosshart. Think a long-sleeve mustard turtle neck maxi dress wouldn’t work? It shouldn’t but the dynamic duo of creative directors Maria Chiuri Grazia and Pierpaolo Piccioli proved that they can do no wrong in an oh-so-modern unique take on the trend. After seventeen years of working together as a team, one wonders how Piccioli will change things up as Chiuri has taken up the helm at Dior.

CHANNEL THE TREND

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Mary! I had gold velvet bell-bottoms…loved them dearly.

    Like

    1. Kathleen, I love the sound of them!!!

      Like

  2. I love the velvet trend! Velvet shoes and handbags are so gorgeous ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

