CRUISING INTO AUTUMN/WINTER 2015

AUTUMN WINTER 2015 – TREND EDIT

IMGP0829_Imagine having the world’s most revered architect on speed dial without having to frantically walk your fingers all over the Golden Pages. I do have access to the world’s best architectural technologist/kisser/photographer/beefcake/Greek Adonis/can’t-believe-he’s-not-a-centrefold-there’s-still-time but on my meagre budget, all I can hope for is an expertly engineered, well-executed Drimnagh conservatory. For anyone under the age of 25, the Golden Pages is an anachronism referring to the big book of landline phone numbers your parents and all other connected residents of Ireland registered their home phones with – it made for some great flirtatious phone calls at the local phone box (a now defunct physical box designed to fit at least one human where a phone…….oh heck, you get the picture).  This is precisely how Nicolas Ghesquière began his tenure at Louis Vuitton. No, not at the phone box, anxiously dialling the home phone number of the teenager he met at the local athletics club, only to be met with spurious inquisition about his parents’ claims to land; the other thing. The new Louis Vuitton foundation, designed by Frank Gehry (of Guggenheim, Bilbao fame) was opened to the public at the debut of the ready-to-wear spring/summer ’15 Louis Vuitton collection (to view more of Gehry’s iconic designs, visit Architectural Digest). What emerged confirmed my love for Ghesquière; (who previously held the reins at Balenciaga for 15 years) a timeless collection of 70s lace a-line silhouettes, eel skin mini-dresses, indigo denims and white leather trousers in an array of prints – the monochrome babydoll – a trustee staple of mine – revisited. Now, while the autumn/winter season has well and truly been thrust upon us (oh, cruel twist of fate), I’m carrying forward the 70s vibe as promulgated by Ghesquière for some trans-seasonal dressing and clinging onto the last of the summer sun with dear life for the final airing of my toes until they are banished into obscurity for the next 10 months of winter.

LOUIS VUITTON’S SPRING/SUMMER 15 INSPIRATIONAL LOOK

While we may not be experiencing the ‘Indian summer’ that had been whispered about in dulcet tones, it is certainly not time for the dreaded boot, is it? It soon will be, however and I will be wearing this new season Topshop dress with my Altuzarra for Target over-the-knee black leather boots that my sister has still not sent over from America despite the collection being released many months ago (hint, hint, wink, nudge…..thud). Ever since an unfortunate incident with a bouncer (in Ireland we call night-club security guards ‘bouncers,’ despite the fact that they almost never bounce or at least they certainly don’t do it for a living) where he so callously told me my neck looked older than my face, I have relished the opportunity to protect my ego from the ‘gum-chewing brutes’ of this world when needs be, with a roll neck/polo neck/turtle/call-it-what-you-will neck. And guess what? The high neck is the hero piece of the autumn/winter 2015 season. My mother and my modesty both being equally as thrilled at the prospect of my cleavage being smuggled, nay swathed ‘neath layers of cosy fabric. Hurrah!
IMG1THE MOOD: VICTORIANA

Brocade, lace, crochet and broderie anglaise are trusty favourites of mine and whenever the Victorian lace reappears its ‘tried and tested’ head, I immediately stock up on high-necked sheer blouses in white, cream and black lace for that much-coveted injection of Gothic romance I manage to revisit so often with the passing seasons. Giles‘ autumn/winter 15 offering was a particular highlight; he sent models including Kendall Jenner down the runway with black lips: the mood? High octane Victorian drama. Come the colder months, I will be sporting my two favourite MAC matte lipsticks; the Gothic-but-glam Cyber with lipliner Nightmoth and Rebel with Vino liner.

img3

The high neck babydoll dress is the silhouette of the autumn/winter 15 season and no other throwback threads inspire such feverish excitement in my girlish loins. We have already discussed on several occasions, my age-inappropriate approach to dressing but I oh so desperately want to be one of the new Miu Miu girls, as imagined by Steven Meisel: Mia Goth’s blonder than blonde eyebrows, Stacy Martin’s rockabilly fringe; the prim look, the nasty gal attitude (see Hailey Gaites kissing a long-haired stranger).

IMGP1070_

Recently, I’ve swayed from my usual Fun-House/Pat Sharpe-esque style that makes me look like a Jackson Pollack experiment and I’ve been embracing all things monochrome. Last night, to go the By the Bog of Cats by Marina Carr at the Abbey, I wore a white shirt, black bodycon pinafore with silver Mary Janes and all the fun came from my makeup palette of acid blue eyeliner.

IMGP0843_

The weather was so beautiful shooting this look so I paired the dress with my Aldo gladiators but I’ve shown some similar styles below and suggested some boots to style with them for a more autumn winter appropriate look.

Outfit Details:

Dress: Topshop, €61. Available instore or online here.

Shoes: Aldo, €80.

Bag: Elizabeth and James ‘Cynnie,’ bougtht in BT2 on the summer sale. Reduced from €575 to €150 (cray, I know!) There’s lots of different colours available on Net a Porter here.

Similar Looks

Thanks to Steven P for all the beautiful photos. x

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Cait says:

    W …. o …. W

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Clio in Cork says:

    Love all things Victorian (bar the imperial ideology). Thanks for the thumbs up on the lovely laces-to-come!

    Like

Leave a Reply

