A Lotta Pilotto

This Spring, I held my breath until that magical Sunday of February 9th, the special day that was firmly etched onto my memory as the day that one of my favourite fashion designers Peter Pilotto, would launch his collaboration with American super-giant Target. There I was perched at the ready, fingers glued to my laptop to order the hottest pieces I had been coveting for months.

IMG_2886

Having formerly occupied the position of style advisor in Brown Thomas’ designer rooms, I had the absolute privilege of working with the world’s top designers and dressing some of Ireland’s most stylish women. Whilst there, I was instantly drawn to the fresh eclectic prints of Peter Pilotto and the sharp silhouettes he created for women. I was seduced by the frivolity and fun of the designs and the combination of classic and modern elegance that was encapsulated by the brand that is the brainchild of Antwerp’s Royal Academy of Fine Arts graduates Peter Pilotto and Christopher de Vos.

IMG_2925

So, on tenterhooks I trepidatiously waited, (Target notoriously does not release the time of the launch of any of its designer collaborations in a move to prevent the website from crashing) ready to go straight to checkout. I was lucky enough (or so I thought) to have a sister living in America, with whom I could liaise with to have the items delivered to in Atlanta and who would presumably post the long-awaited items promptly to me, their new owner, who would both love and cherish them the way they truly deserved. Having underestimated my sister’s busyness and laziness in equal measures and the fact that her life revolves, not around the ever-evolving fast-paced fashion world but around her four beautiful young athletic children, I didn’t receive these items until this September when my Mam went to visit and brought them home, along with an epic pair of Abercrombie denim dungarees and neoprene skirt and a Diane von Furstenburg silk print blouse (Good auld Mammies, they know us so well).

IMG_2921

So finally, I am united with my ‘Peter Pilotto for Target’ items and am embracing the last of the beautiful Autumn weather to wear my dress and skirt and looking forward to the cooler days when I can adorn my ‘Peter Pilotto for Target’ jumper with its cosy fleece lining. Setting off into the old Temple Bar, here are some of the photos my accomplished friend Patrick Murphy took as I danced with the pigeons and enjoyed the Autumn drizzle with the remnants of Summer still present with some erratic bursts of sunshine.

Outfit of the day details as follows: 

Dress: Peter Pilotto x Target: $40-50.

Leather Jacket: All Saints, €520.

Bracelet: Metallic leather, Tory Burch, €95, available here.

http://www.toryburch.eu/double-wrap-logo-stud-bracelet/50005956.html?start=59&cgid=accessories-jewelry&dwvar_50005956_color=040&dwvar_50005956_size=OS

Other bracelet: Links of London black mini friendship bracelet, £95, available here:

http://www.linksoflondon.com/gb-en/online-shop/women/bracelets/22976-black-mini-friendship-bracelet

Shoes: Clarks, previous season.

Cherry earrings: Topshop.

Bag: Louis Vuitton, present.

Similar model here: http://us.louisvuitton.com/eng-us/products/speedy-30-lg-monogram-multicolor-000483

Make-up: MAC ruby woo, cherry lipliner, Sally Hansen leg-make-up.

 

Leave a Reply

